A Woman of the Sea

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: In Conversation with Kacey Sophia

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: In Conversation with Kacey Sophia

Kacey Sophia ((@authorkaceysophia) and I talk reviews, the inspiration behind “Time and Tide” and “Nine-Tenths”, trying to find an agent in the middle of the post-pandemic chaos that is publishing, figuring out your own marketing, and the benefits of publishing to Wattpad.

CAPTIONS ARE AUTO-GENERATED. MY PROGRAM CRASHED EVERY TIME I TRIED TO FIX A TYPO, SO I GAVE UP. SORRY FOR ANY ERRORS YOU FIND.

I didn’t realize how … CLOSE cropped the image would be. I swear I was perfectly framed in my own window.

Can you see the moments when I …
-Realize you can see my lamp reflected in my glasses?
-When I pour myself more coffee?
-When I notice that my still-drying hair is curling wonkily?

No comments
JM FreyAUTHOR INTERVIEW: In Conversation with Kacey Sophia
Read more

TIME AND TIDE: Preorders Now Available

TIME AND TIDE: Preorders Now Available

Peror

You can now pre-order TIME AND TIDE! If you buy the book now, it will arrive on your doorstep or pick-up bookstore on the day it drops!

I am both very excited and very nervous. I hope you guys like it.

Click here to buy it directly from my publisher, Penguin Random House Canada / W by Wattpad Books, or visit this page for more options. Of course, I will always encourage you to support your local independent bookstore, so head on in to the shop and pre-order the book directly with them, and I know you’ll be their fave customer that day.

JM FreyTIME AND TIDE: Preorders Now Available
Read more

ARCS Now Available

ARCS Now Available

Releases November 2024.

Exciting news: the eGalley is up on NetGalley and Edelweiss! This means, with the promise of an honest review, you could potentially read the book right now. However, if you’re not interested in an ARC, you can preorder your Copy Here.

*

Historical fiction with a touch of time travel, for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Alexis Hall, and Olivia Waite’s Feminine Pursuits series, where a modern bisexual woman is thrown into Regency England and must figure out how to survive, while she falls in love with a woman who will become a famous author.

Just a twenty-first century gal with nineteenth-century problems…

When Sam’s plane crashes catastrophically over the Atlantic, it defies all odds for Sam to be the sole survivor. But it seems impossible that she’s rescued by a warship in 1805. With a dashing sea captain as her guide, she begins to find her footing in a world she’d only seen in movies.

Then Sam is betrayed. At the mercy of the men and morals of the time, and without the means to survive on her own, she’s left with no choice but to throw herself on the charity of the captain’s sisters. She resigns herself to a quiet life of forever hiding her true self. What she doesn’t expect is that her new landlady is Margaret Goodenough—the world-famous author whose yet-to-be-completed novel will contain the first lesbian kiss in the history of British Literature, and a clever woman. Clever enough to know her new companion has a secret.

As the two women grow ever closer, Sam must tread the tenuous line between finding her own happiness in a place where she doesn’t think she’ll ever fit in, and possibly (accidentally) changing the course of history.

JM FreyARCS Now Available
Read more

COVER REVEAL – “Time and Tide”

COVER REVEAL – “Time and Tide”

Et Voila!

Isn’t it gorgeous? I am absolutely overjoyed with the beautiful custom graphic the marketing team created for the novel!

My novel TIME AND TIDE, formerly “A Woman of the Sea” and “The Woman Who Fell Through Time“, has an all new cover, an all new title, and a whole bunch of new scenes and changes. It comes out November 12th, with W by Wattpad Books.

Preorder your copy here!

About the Book

Just a twenty-first century gal with nineteenth-century problems…

When Sam’s plane crashes catastrophically over the Atlantic, it defies all odds for Sam to be the sole survivor, but it seems impossible that she’s rescued by a warship in 1805. With a dashing sea captain as her guide, she begins to find her footing in a world she’d only seen in movies.

Then Sam is betrayed. At the mercy of the men and morals of the time and without the means to survive on her own, she’s left with no choice but to throw herself on the charity of the captain’s sisters. She resigns herself to a quiet life of forever hiding her true self. What she doesn’t expect is that her new landlady is Margaret Goodenough—the world famous author whose yet-to-be-completed novel will contain the first lesbian kiss in the history of British Literature, and a clever woman. Clever enough to know her new companion has a secret.

As the two women grow ever closer, Sam must tread the tenuous line between finding her own happiness in a place where she doesn’t think she’ll ever fit in, and possibly accidentally changing the course of history.

JM FreyCOVER REVEAL – “Time and Tide”
Read more

Many Backlisted Books Now Free

Many Backlisted Books Now Free

Happy New Year!I have decided that 2024 is the year of spreading my work far and wide. As an indie author, I’ve decided to simply give away a whole bunch of my backlisted novels. They had wonderful launches and reviews when they first debuted, and now I just want people to read and enjoy them. So spread the news, the following books are now available for free or for a very minimal token payment on certain platforms:As J.M. Frey

The Untold Tale: Wattpad | Radish | AO3The Skylark’s Song: WattpadTriptych: Wattpad | RadishTime and Tide: WattpadCity by Night: RadishAs Peggy Barnett (spicy)

Naughty & Nice: RadishDear Abby: RadishLips Like Ice: Wattpad | RadishSome of these books only have a few chapters available at present, but make sure you’re subscribed to my profile on each platform, and you’ll be notified when new chapters drop. They’ll be posted in their entirety in 2024.Please be reassured that I haven’t abandoned print and ebook publishing in 2024, either. The Skylark’s Saga is now fully back in print – you can purchase ebooks or paperbacks with the brand new cover anywhere you shop. The Accidental Turn Series is taking longer than we expected, mostly because I’m being fussy about the interiors, but expect it to be back in print in the next month or two. And of course, Time and Tide will be published in November 2024 in print, ebook, and possibly audiobook.

Happy Reading!

JM FreyMany Backlisted Books Now Free
Read more